It is important to follow motorcycle rules, so you can ride safely and legally in any state in America. If you’re riding in Colorado, there are several state-specific laws that you must keep in mind.
Before you hit the road in Colorado, you need to have insurance. But not only that; you must also present a proof that you are insured to avoid penalties. Having insurance is important because it eases the financial impact of accidents. With the help of a motorcycle injury attorney in Denver, you can file a claim in case you get involved in an accident. This means your insurance company will cover your medical expenses from the accident.
To ride a motorcycle, you need to have an endorsement along with your driver’s license. You can get the said endorsement from the Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles. An endorsement proves you have completed the state’s safety motorcycle requirements.
Low-power vehicles and scooters are not considered motorcycles. You won’t need the endorsement to operate them. But you need to have a basic driver’s license to ride them.
If you are 18 years old and above, you are not required to wear helmets in Colorado. But if you or your passengers are below 18, you must wear a protective helmet. The helmet should comply with the Department of Transportation’s (DOT) specifications.
Eye Protection Laws
All riders and passengers need to wear eye protection when driving in Colorado. Acceptable eye protection includes helmets or visors. You can also use eyeglasses or goggles made from safety glass or plastic. But refrain from using windshields. The DOT does not consider them as protective eyewear.
If your motorcycle was created before January 1, 1973, the only allowed noise levels are:
- 88 dBA at 35mph or less; or
- 90 dBA at 35-55mph
For bikes manufactured after January 1, 1973, the allowed noise levels are:
- 86 dBA at 35mph or less; or
- 90 dBA at 35-55mph
This should be the sound level at a distance of 50 feet.
Colorado laws need you to turn on your headlights and taillights on at night. Headlights should be a white light that projects at 500 feet. Also, you are not allowed to use extra lighting such as colored lights and neon under glow.
In Colorado, it is illegal to pass or overtake vehicles in the same lane. You can only share a lane or co-ride with another motorcycle. But it is not allowed to do lane splitting with cars. Grabbing onto a vehicle or another motorcycle is also illegal. Do not attach your bike to another vehicle.
Riding with Passengers
If you’re riding with a passenger, make sure they ride at the seat behind the driver. They may also ride in a sidecar. Be sure to have footrests installed on your bikes, and that your passengers are using them. For passengers below the age of 18, they must also wear DOT-specified helmets.
Now that you know the motorcycle rules in Colorado, follow them to the core the next time you hit the road. This will allow you to reduce the risk of accidents while riding.